Supernatural, Mystery, Fantasy

Welcome to the books of John Frank Marshall

Evoking classical authors such as Daphne Du Maurier, combining elements of the supernatural, mystery and fantasy in a uniquely modern blend.

Up and Coming…

Langley Hall – a modern ghost story

Artwork - Enrique Meseguer, Pixabay

23-year-old addict Laura Mortlock has just killed her sadistic minder with a bottle of Smirnoff, when she discovers she’s inherited Langley Hall. Located on Dartmoor, the old house has a dark history of slavery and witchcraft.

As events unfold, Laura discovers that history is replaying, and she and her new friends are at the centre. Laura’s pregnant, and the reincarnated lord and lady of Langley Hall want her unborn child. Only Laura’s determination, obdurate housekeeper Mrs Gibby, and the Witchfinder can save her.

Ghost story Langley Hall is a tribute to the writings of M. R. James and Daphne du Maurier, combining the classic ingredients of James with the romantic, intense style of Du Maurier. The novel has a contemporary setting, whilst creating a sense of isolation evoking the 1930’s. Artwork – Enrique Meseguer, Pixabay


Artwork - Enrique Meseguer, Pixabay

Successful sculptress Kate Dawlish was young, talented and troubled. The blackout came out of nowhere and when she woke on the floor of her studio, Kate saw Tom for the first time and her world was forever changed.

The blackout hits again, two weeks before Kate’s wedding, when she’s driving Tom in her car. The ensuing crash is no accident – someone’s trying to kill her. When Kate awakens in hospital, there was no crash and there is no Tom. Instead, she’s been married to Mark Siegel and living in the family home.

In her search for Tom, Kate uncovers the truth about her father. Financier Mark is having an affair with Angie, and there’s a village which shouldn’t exist, with strangers who seem to know her.

After Kate discovers Mark and Angie want her committed, she escapes and finally finds Tom. She takes him back to the house to confront her husband and sister, but the nightmare is just beginning for Kate… Artwork – Enrique Meseguer, Pixabay

Where Giants Sleep

New Trilogy ‘Where Giants Sleep’

‘Tread gently where giants sleep.’
City 5 Holy Book SSG1005, Volume 6.2.

Living in a magical post-apocalyptic Eden isn’t enough for 23-year-old Caia Esvane. Then she awakens a warlike, high-tech city living below the sea with unimaginable consequences, in this first book of the gripping fantasy trilogy ‘Where Giants Sleep‘.

First novel EMERGENCE will introduce you to an extraordinary post-apocalyptic world with its unique cultures, beliefs and environments, as Caia’s world faces destruction and she falls for Lucas Venn, a lawkeeper from the city. Emergence is much more than a clash of cultures. It follows the lives and fates of families caught up in an unjust war, and concerns the battle of beliefs – magic versus technology, progress versus sustainability, love versus hate.

The sects from the city and the Surface clans must fight and die for what they believe in, as Caia’s power is finally revealed. Artwork – Enrique Meseguer, Pixabay

About the Author

Author John Frank Marshall

I’m pleased to be with the John Jarrold Literary Agency. I was writing my first novel when I first contacted John, who was just setting up his own agency. Over the years, John’s always been supportive with his consistent and honest advice. My journey has taken me from Fantasy Horror to more mainstream Supernatural Mystery. Having got this far, I know there’s much more to come and that’s what makes this exciting. I share some personal insights of the life of an aspiring writer in my blog. Meanwhile, I hope you enjoy visiting my site.


Books authored



Books on Amazon

More books and short stories…

Ancient Empire, by John Frank Marshall
Dream Walker, by John Frank Marshall
Elf Child, by John Frank Marshall
Short Stories by John Frank Marshall

Thanks to my loving family, and my son and artist Greg Wood for this photo. A special thank you to the incredible artist Enrique Meseguer for the artwork at the top of this page, and other images. Artist acknowledgements on all web pages where possible. All image copyright resides with the original artists. All written materials on this site are copyright (C) John Frank Marshall. Click here for other web site terms and conditions. This site is built using the wonderful Astra Pro Wordpress theme. Acknowledgements and further details here.

Scroll to Top